Geologic processes, forest dynamics, human use of natural resources, and environmental policy are the emphases of the Department of Earth and Environmental Systems at the University of the South.

Students examine the physical, biological, and chemical components of natural landscapes, and they also address the economic, social and political aspects of environmental issues as part of their study.

The department stresses work both within and outside the classroom, and we train students to make field observations, conduct data analyses, and to give concise oral and written presentations of their work.

Majors, Minors and Certificates: The Department offers four majors including Forestry, Geology, Natural Resources and the Environment, and Environment and Sustainability. We also offer three minors (Environmental Studies, Forestry, Geology) and administer the Watershed Science Certificate.