Built in 1929, Tuckaway Hall was Sewanee's first use of fieldstone architecture in its buildings. From 1929 until the fall of 2008, the residence hall housed 60 men from all four classes; it is now co-ed.
Double and single rooms are situated in three main sections divided by multi-level staircases to create five small floors. Some rooms share hall baths and some share suite baths. All floors are carpeted and windows are furnished with blinds.
Average room & window dimensions: Each room and window is unique in shape and size. To determine specific room and window dimensions for each room, please view the below document:
Room Furnishings (based on a double occupancy room):
- Two Twin beds with approximately 18 inches of storage space under each bed
- Two desks with chairs
- Two dressers with five drawers each
- Two wall-mounted bookcases with two shelves each
- Two built-in closets
- Full length mirror on the back of the room door
- Two waste baskets
- One room phone and two Ethernet ports
The first floor common room is connected to the covered front porch and has a large stone fireplace. It is known as "the fishbowl" because of its three sets of glass French doors. The front porch has rocking chairs for residents to relax in. The lower common room, opening into a full kitchen, is used by residents for sharing meals with friends, for watching TV or movies, and for holding meetings. Tuckaway Hall is air-conditioned.
To view more photos of Tuckaway, please visit the Tuckaway Hall photo album on our Facebook page.