Making Headlines

Stars and Scoops

"A review is not measured by the number of stars and scoops it gets. Good literature is produced by a few queer people in odd corners; the use of a review is not to force talent, but to create a favourable atmosphere." —T. S. Eliot to Ford Madox Ford, 1924

Spilt Ink: Michael Beeman

From Inspiration to Print

New! Kent Nelson Wins Prize

Nelson wins The Drue Heinz Literature Prize from the University of Pittsburgh Press for his manuscript of The Spirit Bird: Short Stories

New! Floyd Skloot's Poem Featured

Poetry Daily features "The Moviemaker"

New! Yezzi's Essay Featured

Poetry Daily shares “The Perfect Moods of William Logan”

New! Ernest Finney Anthologized

"The Wrecker" included in the 2014 edition of The Best American Mystery Stories

New! "Spilt Ink" by Brock Adams

"Here’s the thing: I don’t really like to write."

New! The Sewanee Review at AWP

Table D35 in the South Hall

David Mason Lectures on Dana Gioia

Dana Gioia is the 28th recipient of the Aiken Taylor Award in Modern American Poetry.

New! Gardner McFall Autobiographical Opera


New! Billy Collins's papers sold

As the New York Times points out, Aiken Taylor Award recipient Billy Collins ...

New! 13 Fresh Faces in 2013

Check out the bios of the thirteen new contributors to the Sewanee Review in 2013!

New! Best of 2013 in the Sewanee Review announced

We celebrate the best work published in our magazine in 2013

David Yezzi joins Johns Hopkins

David Yezzi teaches the musicality of verse as a new member of the faculty at Johns Hopkins University

Cally Conan-Davies featured

Her poem in the Sewanee Review is picked up by Poetry Daily

Where Are They Now?

A former Aiken Taylor Intern is in the big leagues.

George Keithley Nominated for Awards

Keithley's essay in SR nominated for two awards

SR Reaches Many Online and Around the World

Find out which issues and articles have been read the most this year—and where!—using Project MUSE from the Johns Hopkins University Press.

Marlin Barton Signs With Filmmaker

Barton's short story to become a short film.

George Watson (1927-2013)

Remembering a Sewanee Review contributor.

Russell Fraser (1928-2014)

Remembering a Sewanee Review contributor

John Rees Moore (1918-2013)

Remembering a Sewanee Review contributor.

New! Louis D. Rubin, Jr., (1923-2013)

In memory of a long time contributor to the SR

New! John Hollander (1929-2013)

Remembering a regular, welcome visitor to Sewanee

New! Seamus Heaney (1939-2013)

Remembering the Nobel Prize winning poet and voice of Ireland

New! T. Alan Broughton (1936-2013)

We remember the decorated poet, author, and long-time contributor

New! G. D. Lillibridge (1921-2012)

Remembering a talented writer, loving husband, father, and grandfather

In Memory of Daniel Hoffman (1923–2013)

Remembering a U.S. Poet Laureate and Aiken Taylor Award winner

In Memory of Joseph Frank (1918–2013)

Biographer of Dostoevsky dies at 94.

Don't Be a Stranger

The SR is always glad to show off its new authors! Be sure to check out the ten new contributors for 2010.

Reprint Information for Authors

The Johns Hopkins University Press answers authors' reprint questions.

Search for