CALL FOR PAPERS

PROGRAM

2016 Draft Program Southern Conference of Slavic Studies

 

 

Thursday, 17 March 2016

Registration, Main Lobby, Embassy Suites, Tuscaloosa, AL 12:00 noon – 5:00 pm

Opening Reception, 6:00pm-11:00 PM Loosa Brews Pub in Tuscaloosa, AL. 412 20th Ave, Tuscaloosa, AL 35401. Sponsored by the University of Alabama.

Friday, 18 March 2016

Registration, Main Lobby, Embassy Suites, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Session 1: 8:30-10:00 am

Panel 1-1: Twentieth-Century Russian Poetry and the Poet’s Biography

Chair: Karl Brown, UW-Whitewater, brownk@uww.edu

“Biography and Form: Kuzmin’s”, Ryan Serrano, Northwestern University ryanserrano2019@u.northwestern.edu

 “The Physicality of Immortality. Interpreting and Translating Maykovsky’s ‘To Comrade Nette,’” Jasmine Trinks, Northwestern University, jasminetrinks2015@u.northwestern.edu

 “Brodsky’s Prose Tombeau for Tsvetaeva”, Nadia Vinogradova, Northwestern University, nadezhdavinogradova2019@u.northwestern.edu

 Discussant: Kevin Reese, UNC-Chapel Hill, kreese@email.unc.edu

 

Panel 1-2: Reading the 1905 Revolution

Chair:

“’The Destruction of Mercy, Love, and Joy:’ Newspaper Coverage of Revolutionary Violence in 1905 Ekaterinburg”, Dakota Irvin, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, dirvin1@live.unc.edu

“Revolutionary Reactionaries: Novoe Vremia and its Readers Interpret the Revolution of 1905”, Zachary Hoffman, University of Virginia, zah3pn@virginia.edu

Discussant: Steven Barnes, George Mason University, sbarnes3@gmu.edu

 

Panel 1-3: Chernobyl Retrospective at the Thirtieth Anniversary

 Chair: Michael K. Launer, Florida State University, mlauner@fsu.edu

“What Happened at Chernobyl: What Do American Students Know about the World’s Worst Nuclear Accident?”, Svitlana Kalinska, RussTech Language Services, Inc. skalinskaya@russtechinc.com

“An Overview of Assistance Programs Sponsored by the Nuclear Industry, the United States Government, the European Union, and the G-7 involving the Soviet Union, post-Soviet Russia, and Ukraine as a Result of the Chernobyl Accident”, Michael K. Launer, Florida State University mlauner@fsu.edu

 “Chernobyl in Public Memory: The ’Normalization’ of a Disaster”, Marilyn J. Young, Florida State University, myoung@fsu.edu  

 Discussant: David Cratis Williams, Florida State University, dcwill@fau.edu

 

Panel 1-4: Reformers and Dissent

 Chair:

“Tat`iana Goricheva: the Development of a Religious Dissident”, Elizabeth Skomp, Sewanee: The University of the South, eskomp@sewanee.edu

“A ‘Thaw’ in Fashion?: The Houses of Design and Consumer Production in the Soviet Union, 1944-1959”, Virginia Olmsted, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, volmsted@live.unc.edu

“Russia’s Other Favorite Drink: Tea as a Solution to Lower-Class Alcoholism, 1837-1917” Audra Yoder, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, audra.jo.yoder@gmail.com

Discussant: Marjorie Hilton, Murray State University, mhilton@murraystate.edu

 Session 2: 10:15am -12:00pm

Roundtable 2-1: The 2014 Ukrainian Crisis and its Aftermath

Chair: James W. Peterson, Valdosta State University, jpetersn@valdosta.edu

Jacek Lubecki, Georgia Southern University, jlubecki@georgiasouthern.edu

Ivan Nikolov, Valdosta State University, inikolov@valdosta.edu

Michael Baun, Valdosta State University, mbaun@valdosta.edu

Olavi Arens, Armstrong State University, olavi.arens@armstrong.edu

Discussant: Anna Fishzon, Duke University, Anna.fishzon@duke.edu or  afishzon@gmail.com

 Panel 2-2: The Novel

 Chair: Marjorie Hilton, Murray State University, mhilton@murraystate.edu

 “The Revolt of a Mass Man in Ilichevsky’s Matiss”, Katya Jordan, Brigham Young University, katya.jordan@byu.edu

“The Homeostatic Universe Murdered Pushkin: The Strugatskiis’ Za milliard let do kontsa sveta”, Kevin Reese, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, kreese@email.unc.edu

“Fear of a Red Plant: Aelita and avant-garde aesthetics in 1924”, Karl Brown, UW-Whitewater, brownk@uww.edu

Discussant:  

Panel 2-3: The Reckless 1920s

Chair:Steve Barnes, George Mason University, sbarnes3@gmu.edu

“Forgotten Soviet Flight of 1926”, Katya Vladimirov, kvladimi@kennesaw.edu

“Rule of None: Soviet Policy in the Era of the New Economic Policy”, Benjamin Sawyer, Middle Tennessee State University, benjamin.sawyer@mtsu.edu 

“Trying the Female Criminal:  State, Society, and Social Norms in Revolutionary Russia”,

Sharon A. Kowalsky, Texas A&M University-Commerce, Sharon.Kowalsky@tamuc.edu

Discussant: Christopher Ward, Clayton State University, christopherward@clayton.edu

 

Panel 2-4: The Fate of the Other

 Chair: Sandra Pujals, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras, spuprrp@gmail.com

 “Meanings and Negotiations of Pride: Conducting LGBTQ Activism in Belgrade”, Alexander Cooper, Central European University, Wgalexander.cooper@gmail.com

 “Two Romeos with no Juliet: Queer Subversion in Jerzy Nasierowki’s Romeo and Romeo”, Jack J.B. Hutchens, University of Florida, jhutchens@ufl.edu

 “Tolerating the Ethnic ‘Other’ in Bosnia and Herzegovina: Student Attitudes towards the Out Group” Matthew Becker, University of Mississippi, mtbecker@olemiss.edu

 Discussant: Lee Farrow, Auburn University at Montgomery, lfarrow@aum.edu

 

Executive Committee Lunch 12:15 -1:15 pm

 

Session 3: 1:30-3:00 pm

Panel 3-1: Reflections on Russia’s turn of the century Monarchy

Chair: Stella Gherva, Univeristy of Alabama, Birmingham, sghervas@uab.edu

“American Impressions of Russian Monarchy, 1870-1871” Lee Farrow, Auburn University at Montgomery, lfarrow@aum.edu

“Monarchical Populism at the Court of Nicholas I”, Susan McCaffray, University of North Carolina-Wilmington, mccaffrays@uncw.edu

“Autocratic Elite Political Culture during the First World War” Frank Wcislo, Vanderbilt University, Francis.W.Wcislo@vanderbilt.edu

Discussant:

 

Panel 3-2: War and Evacuation in Russia and Ukraine

Chair and Discussant: David Goldfrank, Georgetown University goldrad@georgetown.edu

“Evacuation, Forced Migration and Depo, rtation during the Crimean War”, Mara Kozelsky, University of South Alabama, mkozelsky@southalabma.edu

“Wheel of Misfortune: A Tale of Soviet Wartime Evacuation, 1943-1943”, Larry E. Holmes, University of South Alabama, lehviatka@bellsouth.net

“Migration to Russia During the Ukrainian Crisis”, Nick Gossett, University of South Alabama, ngossett@southalabama.edu

Panel 3-3: Imprints: Forgeries, Spies and Tombstones

Chair and Discussant: Katya Vladimirov, Kennesaw State University, kvladimi@kennesaw.edu

“Forgeries and pseudonymity in premodern Ukraine”, Maria Ivanova, University of Virginia, ivanova@virginia.edu,

“Mr. and Mrs. Spy: Alleged Espionage During Stalin’s Great Terror”, Jeanie M. Welch, UNC Charlotte (retired), jeaniemwelch@gmail.com

“From Curbstones to Commemoration: Reclaiming the Memory of Jewish Life in a Polish Town”, Marysia Galbraith, University of Alabama, mgalbrai@ua.edu

Panel 3-4: Representations of War and Diplomacy

Chair: Cadra Peterson McDaniel, Texas A&M University-Central Texas, cadra.mcdaniel@tamuet.edu

“A Tournament of Manliness: Czech K.u.K. Soldiers in Mobilization of 1914”, Jiri Hutecka, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, jhutecka2@unl.edu

“Wartime influence or irrelevance: A first look at Izvolskii in Paris during World War I”, Ronald Bobroff, Oglethorpe University, rbobroff@Oglethrorpe.edu

“Kuzma Petrov-Vodkin and the Representation of War”, David Borgmeyer, Saint Louis University, dborgmey@slu.edu

Discussant: Mara Kozelsky, University of South Alabama, mkozelsky@southalabama.edu

 Business Meeting: 3:30-4:30 pm                                                                                        Ballroom A

Banquet 6:00 pm                                                                                                                   Banquet Room

Keynote Speaker

"The Ukrainian Crisis in Historical Perspective."  

Serhii Plokhii, Mykhailo Hrushevsky, Professor of Ukrainian History, Harvard University

Saturday, 19 March 2016

 

Registration, Main Lobby, Embassy Suites 8:00 am -12:00 pm

Session 4: 9:00-10:30 am

Roundtable 4-1: The Arc and the Wider Arc of Revolution

Chair:

Steve Sabol, UNC Charlotte, sosabol@uncc.edu

Alex Marshall, University of Glasgow, Alexander.Marshall@glasgow.ac.uk

John W. Steinberg, Austin Peay State University, steinbergj@apsu.edu

Discussant:

Panel 4-2: Ukraine: From the Second World War to the Maidan

 Chair: Ron Bobroff, Chair, Oglethorpe University, rbobroff@oglethorpe.edu

“Deep and Unofficial: The Curious Case of the Soviet Underground in Nazi-Occupied Kyiv, 1941-1943”, Martin Blackwell, University of North Georgia, Martin.Blackwell@ung.edu

“Demographic Convulsions, Border Changes, and the Crystallization of the Ukrainian Identity, 1945-2014”, George Liber, University of Alabama at Birmingham, gliber@uab.edu

“Donbas Challenges: Identity, War, and the Roots of the (Non-) Resistance in Maidan and Post-Maidan Ukraine”, Olena Leipnik, Sam Houston State University, oxl001@shsu.edu

Discussant: Matt Payne, Emory University, mpayn01@emory.edu

 

Panel 4-3: Clubs, Societies and Interaction

Chair: Roy R. Robson, Penn State University, royrobson@psu.edu

“Literature as Diplomacy: The Bulgarian P.E.N. Club in the Interwar Years”, Irina Gigova, College of Charleston, gigovai@cofc.edu

“Exporting Subversion: Polish Blackmarketeers’ Contacts with Socialist Societies, 1972-1980”, Michael Skalski  University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, mskalski@unc.edu

“Metaphor in the Architecture of Ivan Leonidov and Bernard Tschumi”, Mila Nazyrova, University of South Carolina, nazyrova@mailbox.sc.edu

Discussant: Katya Jordan, Brigham Young University, katya.jordan@byu.edu

 

Panel 4-4: National Interest and Northern Russia

Chair: Maria Ivanova, University of Virginia, ivanova@virginia.edu

“Russian and Chinese Arctic Interest: Problems and Prospects”, Tom Rotnem, trotrnem@kennesaw.edu

“Arctic Nationalism: Vladimir Putin’s Strategy for Russia as a Northern Power”, Cadra Peterson McDaniel, Texas A&M University-Central Texas, cadra.mcdaniel@tamuet.edu

Discussant: Michael Baun, Valdosta State University, mbaun@valdosta.edu

Session 5: 10:45-12:15pm

Roundtable 5-1: Poland, World War II & The Holocaust

Chair: David Borgmeyer, Saint Louis University, dborgmey@slu.edu

Matthew Schwonek, United States Airforce Air Command and Staff College, matthew.schwonek@us.af.mil

Jacek Lubecki, Georgia Southern University, jlubecki@georgiasouthern.edu

John W. Steinberg, Austin Peay State University, steinbergj@apsu.edu

Discussant:

Panel 5-2: The Embodiment of Creative Memories

Chair:

“The Archive as Weapon of Class Struggle: Archivists, Citizens, and the Creation of the Soviet Historic Record”, Kelly A. Kolar, Middle Tennessee State University, Kelly.kolar@mtsu.edu 

“Religious Faith, Secular Culture and Technology Converge: Cosmonaut Rituals at Baikonur”, Cathleen S. Lewis, Smithsonian Institution, LewisCS@si.edu

“’The Immortal Regiment’- War Memory, Politics, and Emotions in Putin’s Russia”, Karen Petrone, University of Kentucky, petrone@email.uky.edu

Discussant: Suzanne Ament, Radford University, seament@radford.edu

Panel 5-3: Nationalism: Reflections and Attitudes

Chair:  David Goldfrank, Georgetown University, goldrad@georgetown.edu

“Russian-Turkish War of 1877-1878 and the Attitude of the Russian Society(based on memoirs, diaries and the epistolary heritage of the contemporaries)”, Alena Eskridge-Kosmach, Francis Marion University, AEskridgeKosmach@fmarion.edu

“Vuk Karadzic as Politician and Nationalist: The Standardization of Modern Serbian and its Role in the Language Politics of Nationalism in Late Austria-Hungary” Thomas Elvins, tae17@pitt.edu

“Stolidly Plodding Home: Poland’s Refugee Problem, 1919-1922.” Matthew Adams, Savannah State University, adamsm@savannahstate.edu

Discussant:

Panel 5-4: Legacy of Communism: Theater and Film

Chair: Katya Vladimirov, Kennesaw State University, kvladimi@kennesaw.edu

 “And Your Mother Too: Soviet Cinema’s Legacy to Mexican Cinematography, 1931-2000”, Sandra Pujals, University of Puerto Rico, spuprrp@gmail.com

 “Music and the Cinematic Soviet Woman: The Arnshtam/Shostakovich Collaboration”, Joan Titus, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, j_titus@uncg.edu

 Discussant:

Beach Party:

 

1:30 pm: Trip to Moundville. Meet in Hotel Lobby

7:00 pm: Film night in ten Hoor Hall, room 125 on the University of Alabama campus. Meet in the Hotel Lobby at 6:30 pm