Veronica Calvin  vcalvin@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/vcalvin/personal.html   
Luis Chavez  lchavez@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/lchavez/personal.html  
Shaleen Cholera   scholera@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/scholera/personal.html  
Michael Cumberbatch   mcumberb@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/mcumberb/personal.html   
Sedar Dunn sdunn@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/sdunn/personal.html  
Hayley Greer  hgreer@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/hgreer/personal.html   
Erin Hickmon  ehickmon@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/ehickmon/personal.html   
Zachary Hicks   zhicks@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/zhicks/personal.html   
Sumaiya Hossain shossain@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/shossain/personal.html   
Shernita Lee  slee@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/slee/personal.html  
Sharad Mani smani@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/smani/personal.html  
Nancy Martinez nmartine@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/nmartine/personal.html  
Swati Midha  smidha@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/smidha/personal.html  
Greg Mosby  gmosby@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/gmosby/personal.html  
Lance Orphe  lorphe@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/lorphe/personal.html   
LaMia Scott   lscott@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/lscott/personal.html  
Vikram Srivastava   vsrivast@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/vsrivast/personal.html  
Alexis Torres   atorres@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/atorres/personal.html  
Victor Wang vwang@sewanee.edu http://bridge.sewanee.edu/vwang/personal.html  

To read your e-mail from any computer "go to heaven" for Webmail at: http://heaven.sewanee.edu, enter username and password.

To login to your Bridge folder, connect using Chooser (or Command K in System 10) select Sewanee Net Servers, select 01b-Classes, then select bridge04, enter username and password (same as email). This will put an icon in the computer's desktop, double -click on it to open it.

Very important: After you are done, log-out from the server by dragging the brideg04 icon to the Trash.


WEEK 1 TEAMS
 TEAM 1 TEAM 2  TEAM 3  TEAM 4   TEAM 5
Roochi Sedar Sumaiya Swati Iman
Luis Hayley Shernita Greg Vikram
Shaleen Erin Sharad Lance Alexis
Michael Zachary Nancy LaMia Victor


Homework for Tuesday night (6/22) (one per team):

 

1) Find the general equation that predicts how many moves are required for n disks in the Tower of Hanoi game.

 

2) Use it to calculate the time it would take to complete a game with n = 25 disks, at a rate of 1 move per second. Is it longer or shorter than the average human lifetime (lets say 75 years)?

 

3) Use it to calculate the time it would take to complete a game with n = 64 disks, at a rate of 1 move per second. Is it longer or shorter than the accepted age of the universe (about 15 billion years)?

 

4) The 3 points, 1/2 distance chaos game rules produce the Sierpinski Gasket we saw in class. What is your prediction (emerging pattern) for a 4 points, 1/2 distance game (imagine using the corners of a square instead of a triangle)?

 

5) Read the chapter "A Geometry of Nature" (pages 81-118) of Gleick's Chaos and answer (type them in MS Word) the questions posted at:

http://www.sewanee.edu/physics/bridge/GLEICK.html


WEEK 2 TEAMS

 TEAM 1 TEAM 2  TEAM 3  TEAM 4   TEAM 5
LaMia Shaleen Sumaiya Swati Luis
Erin Victor Shernita Roochi Sharad
Iman Sedar Hayley Lance Greg
. Zachary Nancy Lexi Michael

Homework for Monday night (6/28)

1) Individual work: LIFE AND NONLINEAR DYNAMICS

Write a story of your own. Specifically, take an instance from your life where a small choice, perhaps made in an offhand fashion, led eventually to a significant difference in your life. For your parable to be apt to the context of this course, the train of events flowing from your choice has to be deterministic. Try to identify some of the nonlinearities in the "dynamics of your life" that helped cause your choice to initiate the unexpected chain of events it did.

To emphasize the magnitude of the effect of this small choice, construct a plausible scenario of the result of your making a different small choice (under the same "life dynamics").

Finally, save your story as HTML using MS Word under the name "Story.html" in your bridge04 folder, and link it from your personal web page.

 

2) Individual work: Place your name in fractals letters in your personal web page.

 

3) (one per team) Read the chapter "Life Ups and Downs" (pages 57-80) of Gleick's Chaos and answer (type them in MS Word) the questions posted at:

http://www.sewanee.edu/physics/bridge/GLEICK.html

 

4) (one per team) Complete last week assignment of M-set.

 


Homework for Wednesday night (6/30)

 

1) (one per team) The Game of Life (Transition Rules: Birth if surrounded by 3 live cells, Survival if surrounded by 2 or 3 live cells, Death otherwise)

 

a) Determine by hand the next generation of the Life configurations below

 a
             
             
             
             
             
 b
             
             
             
             
             
 c
             
             
             
             
             
 d
             
             
             
             
             

 

b) Determine by hand the next two generations of the Life configurations below

First Generations:

 a
             
             
             
             
             
 b
             
             
             
             
             
 c
             
             
             
             
             
 d
             
             
             
             
             

Second Generations:

 a
             
             
             
             
             
 b
             
             
             
             
             
 c
             
             
             
             
             
 d
             
             
             
             
             

 

Using LifeLab and the random initial condition, observe which stable configurations arise spontaneously from the Life rules.

(Allow some time to pass before drawing any conclusions - the transients must be allowed to die down.).

Indicate what gliders (stable patterns that propagate through the system) did you find.


2) (Individual Work) Some deep philosophical questions:

 

"Human consciousness, free will, or feelings can never be understood in terms of physical laws."

"People are mechanistic entities whose behaviors emerge from the same principles that govern all forms of matter."

Here are two opposite views of humanity.

Construct an argument that supports each position.

Which argument do you find more compelling?

Post your arguments as "Discussion.html" and link it from your personal web page.


3) Find the slope (dimension D) from the plot of M vs Diameter for the DLA growth process. Make sure you run the applet long enough to have several data points.

 


4) (one per team) Read the chapter "The Butterfly Effect" (pages 9-31) of Gleick's Chaos and answer (type them in MS Word) the questions posted at:

http://www.sewanee.edu/physics/bridge/GLEICK.html