Energy & Climate

Congratulating the Sustainability Undergraduate Fellows

Fri, 06 Dec 2013 15:55:00 CST  — by: Clesi Bennett, C'13, Sustainability Post-Baccalaureate Fellow

Early this semester, juniors and seniors from all majors applied to become Sustainability Undergraduate Fellows, who along with the Sustainability Post-Baccalaureate Fellows make up Sewanee’s Green Corps. We want take a moment to recognize the work they are doing.

The Sustainability Fellows engage the University as student ambassadors for sustainability on campus and in the surrounding communities. They also help the University meet its goals for campus sustainability as called for in the 2013 Sustainability Master Plan. The fellowship is a three-pronged program, focusing on leadership and service, communication, and research. The Fellows were chosen through a competitive application process focusing on their co-curricular engagement in sustainability, responsibility and hard-working nature in the classroom, and their ability to work as part of a team. This year’s Sustainability Undergraduate Fellows have undertaken several projects, such as: a socially responsible investment policy for the University, changes to University transportation policy and bike storage to increase non-vehicular transportation and reduce carbon emissions, “Waste-Not Week” – a week of events dedicated to educate students on the implications of consumerism, an evaluation of potential sites for University agriculture expansion, a sustainability-themed photo contest, research on demonstrated water re-use on campus, and attempting to reduce food waste on campus and increase local foods purchased in Dining Services. 

Sewanee would like to congratulate these undergraduates on their work this semester!

Jordan Long, C’14: Political Science Major, Economics Major, International and Global Studies Minor
Joanna Parkman, C’14: Ecology and Biodiversity Major, Anthropology Minor, Watershed Science Certificate
Parker Haynes, C’14: Chemistry Major, Ecology and Biodiversity Major
Brelyn Yuratich, C’14: Environmental Policy Major, Religion and the Environment Minor
David Evans, C’15: Math Major, Environmental Policy Major
Georgia Skerman, C’15: International and Global Studies Major, French Major

For questions or comments about this fellowship, please contact: 
 The Office of Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability: 
Jon Evans, Assistant Provost for Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability, or Marvin Pate, Director of Sustainability Integration,

The Office of Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability

Cleveland Annex 110
(931) 598-1559 |

Connect with The OESS