New Members of Psi Chi

At the end-of-the-academic-year departmental luncheon on April 25, faculty advisor Dr. Al Bardi will induct the following new members of Sewanee's chapter of Psi Chi—the National Honor Society for Psychology.  Each will be presented with the membership certificate and a pin.

  • Brent Blalock ’14
  • Kaitlyn Breiten ’13
  • Mary Emily Christiansen ’12
  • Martha Cook ’12
  • Chris Daniell ’14
  • Sarah Haroldson ’13
  • Lauren Joca ’13
  • Quersten McDonald ’12
  • Amy Nystrand ’13
  • Erin Polena ’12

Four have psychology as a Minor Field of Study … Christiansen is majoring in Biochemistry;  Cook is majoring in Mathematics;  McDonald and Polena are majoring in Economics.  The Major Field of Study for the other six is Psychology.

Psi Chi was founded in 1929 for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology. It is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is an affiliate of the American Psychological Association (APA) and the Association for Psychological Science (APS). It has chapters at more than 1,090 senior colleges in the USA, Canada, and Ireland. Qualifications for Psi Chi membership are

  • Must be at least a second-semester sophomore
  • Must be enrolled as a major or minor in a psychology program or a program psychological in nature that is equivalent to a psychology major
  • Must have completed at least 9 semester hours or 14 quarter hours of psychology courses
  • Must have an overall GPA that is in the top 35% of their class based on rankings within sophomore, within junior, or within senior classes (if the cut-off for the top 35% is below 3.00, the applicant must have an overall GPA of at least 3.00 on a 4-point scale)
  • Must have a psychology GPA that is at least 3.00 on a 4-point scale

Current students who earned membership at an earlier date are

  • Shelby Bartlett ’12
  • Lizzie Butler ’12
  • Kabler Colhoun ’12
  • Alexandra Diaz ’12
  • Layne Ezzell ’12
  • Alex Ginsburg ’12
  • Dani Kabbes ’12
  • Cathy Lambert ’12
  • Caroline Lindemuth ’12
  • Loretta Modica ’12
  • C.J. Phillips Pitts ’12
  • Marci Weber ’13
  • Virginia Zakas ’12